Human & Constitutional Rights, National Links


The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. Capital: Belgrade. Yugoslavia is located in Southeastern Europe, on the Balkan Peninsula. It is bordered by the Adriatic Sea, Bosnia and Hercegovina, and Croatia, Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria, and Macedonia and Albania.

The Past:  Between World War II and 1991, Yugoslavia was a federated nation consisting of six republics: Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Macedonia, and Montenegro.

The Present:  Though the situation is fluid, the area known as Yugoslavia before 1991 now contains the following states:

  • The Yugoslav Republic, consisting of Serbia and Montenegro.  Within Serbia, the Albanian majority in the Kosovo region seeks independence.
  • Croatia:  Serbia took control of eastern Slavonia, a region within Croatia, during the war.  In 1997, a U.N.-directed effort to reintegrate the region into Croatia began.
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina:  The Dayton Peace Agreement divides Bosnia-Herzegovina roughly equally between a Muslim/Croat Federation and the Bosnian Serbs while maintaining Bosnia's currently recognized borders.
  • Slovenia:  Seceded in 1991.
  • Macedonia:   Macedonia has experienced ethnic tensions between its Albanian and Macedonian populations, and Greece has expressed concerns that this state may make claims upon Greek Macedonia.


  • Constitution (from Official Web Site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Yugoslavia)
  • Constitution (from the University of Wuerzburg)


Inter-Governmental Organizations

Non-Governmental Organizations:

Other Resources

Last updated March 1,  2006.

Human and Constitutional Rights Resource Page
Back to National Links